Skip to content

mantras

March 29, 2011

As I’ve been getting into running, I’ve heard many-a-mantra posted to Twitter or on running blogs, etc. I really want to come up with a mantra or 10 for myself to get me through the challenges of running long distances (or short ones…basically all runs). Some mantras that I like so far:

For starting out easy: “Don’t listen, don’t look, just run.”

For perseverance: “Run the mile you’re in.”

For motivation to get out the door: “You will not come home wishing that you didn’t go.” (Thanks, Jill Bredow!)

Do you have any mantras that have helped you? Or ways of remembering them?

Image via vestman

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 29, 2011 6:11 pm

    wow! i was quoted! i am blushing. =) enjoy finding your mantra.

  2. Amanda Brockman permalink
    March 29, 2011 6:38 pm

    “I refuse to let my thighs look like tapioca pudding.”

    Is the only mantra that works for me….the rest is just bull$%*! I could care less about cardiovascular health or having goals. Only vanity works for me.

  3. Stephen Keating permalink
    March 29, 2011 9:55 pm

    My mantra is usually: “I have to run faster than Katie.” Just being honest…

  4. April 15, 2011 3:51 pm

    One I like that I heard recently was “suck it up, princess.” I liked it . But I haven’t tried it yet. It might just make me mad at myself!
    I know what you mean about the comments! Some of them just make my day!
    Have a great weekend!

Leave a Reply

