Skip to content

i never did these justice: wedding pics

March 8, 2011

Last night as I was looking through our iPhoto library for wallpaper contenders for my new iPad, I wasted spent a worthwhile hour flipping through all of our wedding photos. Shameful confession: we have not printed or hung any photos from our wedding, and when you see how amazing our pictures turned out (all because of our incredible venue and even more incredible photographer), you will surely block this URL as you will never want to mistakenly come across this certifiably crazy person again. I don’t know why we haven’t done anything with these. I think I have a hangup about plastering photos of myself and Stephen all over our own house? I’m not sure. *help me*

Anyhow, since I obviously have not done these photos justice in feeding them the eyeballs they certainly deserve, I wanted to do a quick post to share a few of my favorites. I hope you enjoy. More about the photographer and venue below.

So I know. It begs the question: was that sunset REAL?! The answer is YES. Here is the brief version of the story: our wedding took place on September 27, 2008, in Cancun, Mexico. It was during the rainy season, and it rained ALL DAY the day of the wedding. Our ceremony and reception were supposed to take place on the rooftop of our hotel, however the staff insisted on moving it inside to a disgusting conference room with NO WINDOWS and PADDED WALLS because of the weather. I begged them to keep it outside, even if it was a freaking hurricane. Thanks to a miracle, 20 minutes before the ceremony the sun came out and we were able to have the wedding outside. Without the clouds and the storm, though, we wouldn’t have had that amazing sky.

The photos after the end of the ceremony were taken two days after the wedding during a “trash the dress” session. Our photographer was kind enough to stay in town to spend a morning with us shooting those. I wish I could post all of them, but alas, I’m sure your finger hurts from scrolling down this far already.

So I’ll leave you with some information about our photographer, Morgan Razi. She’s based out of Houston, Texas. You can find her website and blog at www.morganlynnphotography.com. She was an absolute DREAM to work with–from being patient with all of our details, to being flexible the day of during the rain fiasco, to making sure she captured everything we wanted. Book her and share her link! She is so talented.

Anyway, thanks for indulging me in a nostalgic post. The end!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 8, 2011 9:14 am

    I know I have seen these before… But I still love looking at them because they’re so gorg! And P.S. I have done nothing with my wedding photos either.. I think I’m having the same complex as you…

  2. March 8, 2011 9:31 am

    Take that last one, print it LARGE and hang it on your wall. You were lucky enough to have a very talented photographer capture these once in a lifetime images of the two of you. You may as well enjoy them. Don’t think of displaying images of your wedding as any kind of narcissism, but rather a beautiful way of remembering your wedding and celebrating your marriage.

    • March 8, 2011 4:58 pm

      Thanks for the much needed perspective. I hope to report soon that I have followed through on this advice! Thanks for reading!

  3. March 8, 2011 5:01 pm

    When you do, take a picture of it hanging on your wall and post it on your blog. I bet you will be pleased with the result!

    Oh, and belated congrats on your wedding.

  4. March 16, 2011 5:43 pm

    ummm… the picture on the steps that lead right into the ocean?!?!? omg. Gorgeous. So much drama. You guys look HOT. love it. more, please.

    and P.S. where was all this amazing sexy scenery when WE were in Cancun??? I demand a honeymoon re-do 🙂

Leave a Reply

